BRAIN
STORMS

credits: Suzanne Dikker & Matthias Oostrik / AFNI

brainstorms

People

Marina Abramovic, Konstantin Anokhin, Gyorgy Buzsaki, Mikhail Burtsev, David Dubrovsky, Alexander Kaplan, Antonio Chella, Marina Korsakova-Kreyn, Georgy Nikich, Daria Parkhomenko, Julius Popp, Arseniy Khitrov, Tatiana Chernigovskaya, Sergey Shutov

Marina Abramovic

Artist. New-York, USA. Born in Belgrade, Yugoslavia

The main subject and medium of Marina Abramovic's artistic action is the body. For more than 40 years she has been creating works that challenge both the artist and the audience physically and psychologically. Exploring the physical and mental limits of her being, she has withstood pain, exhaustion, and danger in the quest for emotional and spiritual transformation. She is the holder of many honorable doctorates and the won the 1997 Venice Biennale Golden Lion for her performance "Balkan Baroque". Her performance "The Artist is Present" (2010) in the Museum of Modern Art, New York, lasted for 3 months. During that time members of the public were able to sit opposite the artist and look into her eyes. Following this Abramovic started to collaborate with neuroscientists, which in turn led to the performance "Measuring the Magic of Mutual Gaze" in the CCC "Garage" (Moscow, 2011). "Brainwaves are everywhere..." — Marina Abramovic.

Konstantin Anokhin

Neurobiologist. Moscow, Russia. Born in Moscow, USSR

Head of the Neuroscience Department of the Russian Scientific Centre “Kurchatov Institute”, Moscow. Head of the Memory Neurobiology Laboratory at Hominal Physiology Scientific Centre (Russian Academy of Medical Sciences). What memory is, how our subjective experiences are stored in cells and brain molecules, how our memories change with time, how this is connected to consciousness and how does our brains produce consciousness – these are some of the topics of Konstantin Anokhin's studies.

Gyorgy Buzsaki

Neurophysiologist. Newark, New-Jersey, USA. Born in Kaposvar, Hungary

Biggs Professor of Neuroscience at New York University. His primary interests are brain oscillations, sleep, memory and associated diseases. His main focus is “neural syntax”, i.e., how the segmentation of neural information is organized by the numerous brain rhythms to support cognitive functions. He is the author of more than 300 scientific publications and the bestseller “Brain Rhythms” (2006). Buzsaki is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and an honorary member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, and he sits on the editorial boards of several leading neuroscience journals, including Science and Neuron. He is a co-recipient of the 2011 Brain Prize.

Mikhail Burtsev

Neuromathematician. Moscow, Russia. Born in Ulyanovsk, USSR

Head of the NeuroIntellect and Neuromorphic systems Laboratory of the Russian Scientific Centre “Kurchatov Institute”, Moscow. The sphere of Mikhail Burtsev's scientific interests involves the creation of evolving and self learning artificial intelligence with help of theoretic neurobiology and experiments with neuro-hybrid systems.

David Dubrovsky

Philosopher. Moscow, Russia. Born in Orekhov, USSR

Chief Research Associate at the Institute of Philosophy (Russian Academy of Science), co-chairman of academic board on methodology of artificial intelligence (Russian Academy of Science). Author of publications on the philosophical problems of psychology, epistemology, psycho-physiological problems, axiological sense-structures, the problems of the subconscious, self-delusion and half-truths. A specialist on the analytical philosophy of consciousnesse. The author of many books, among which are: “Psychic phenomenon and the brain”, “The problem of the Ideal”, “Consciousness, the brain and artificial intelligence”.

Alexander Kaplan

Psychophisiologist. Moscow, Russia. Born in Moscow, USSR

Doctor of Biological Sciences, professor, head of the Neurophysiology and Neurocomputer Interfaces Laboratory of Moscow State University. Alexander Kaplan has developed an original method to analyze the electric activity of human brain, which helped to discover new codes of brain activity. He also discovered new approaches to testing human cognitive abilities and generated data on the nature of psychiatric illnesses. Whether a man can spontaneously manage the state of his mind and whether we can register those states of mind in the brain's bioelectrical currents – these are the topics of Alexander Kaplan's researche.

Antonio Chella

Robot technician. Palermo, Italy. Born in Florence, Italy

Doctor of Sciences in computer engineering, head of the Robotics Laboratory, University of Palermo. His main scientific interests concern the challenge of creating a robot with an inner life and able to show emotions, creativity, consciousness and a sense of self. Antonio Chella has developed several robots related with cultural and artistic heritage. Among them, “Cicerobot” and “Robotanic”, two autonomous museum guide robots employed at the Archaeological Museum of Agrigento and at the Botanical Garden of the University of Palermo. Chella is the chief editor of the “International Journal of Machine Consciousness”.

Marina Korsakova-Kreyn

Musician. New York, USA. Born in Nizhny Novgorod, USSR

A pianist and researcher in the sphere of music perception. She wrote her Ph.D on “Emotional reactions to tonal space refocusing” at the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences (University of Texas, Dallas). She studies perceptions of music rotation in a tonal force field, the influence of visualization on rhythm perception, the practice of esthetic pangeometry of Pavel Florensky in the investigation of emotions. Her research interests are concerned with the artistic performance practices of musicians and spatial aspects of music.

Georgy Nikich

Art historian, curator. Moscow, Russia. Born in Moscow, USSR

Possesses a PhD in Art History, is a member of the Board of International Association of Art-critics, the curator of the Forum “Culture+”, the chief curator of Moscow International Forum of Art Initiatives, a lecturer at the faculty of socio-cultural project management in the Moscow School of Social and Economic Sciences (Russian-British University). Georgy Nikich's interests involve research into the nature of creativity as well as forms and levels concerning how an artist's message depends on context. He performed as a consultant for the program “The descriptive manner of paranoiacs” and curated projects “Sensation Control Station”, and “Depth…” (exhibition – interview).

Daria Parkhomenko

Art historian, curator. Moscow, Russia. Born in Moscow, USSR

Founding director and curator of the independent non-profit cultural center LABORATORIA Art &Science Space, Moscow. In 2009 founded The Foundation to Support Arts and Science Strategic Innovations - LABORATORIA. She has participated inmore than twenty curatorial and research projects, among them: “The Apparatus must be beautiful”, “Between Heaven and Earth”, “Tele-present Wind” and “Infusion”. Daria Parkhomenko participated in an art&science expedition from Cape Farewell to the Arctic. In 2011 she was the member of the jury at the Ars Electronica Festival, Linz, Austria. She also curated the science art performance by Marina Abramovic “Measuring the Magic of Mutual Gaze” at CCC "Garage”, Moscow.

Julius Popp

Artist. Leipzig, Germany. Born in Nurnberg, Germany

Popp’s work to date primarily focuses on the phenomenon of information. In his artworks Julius Popp uses the most advanced technologies and inventions. One of his best known works is “Bitfall”, which analyses newsfeeds on the Internet and transforms them into “waterfall text”. Signs appear by means of pulsation, water streams, pumped in intervals, and drops of water. Julius Popp’s artworks are explored in the Fraunhofer Institute, Bonn, and at Computer Sciences Laboratory (MIT), where the problems of creating artificial intelligence are studied. In 2009 he was the recipient of the Leipziger Volkszeitung Art Prize, and in 2003, the Robot Choice Award.

Arseniy Khitrov

Philosopher, cultural scientist. Moscow, Russia. Born in Moscow, USSR

Associate professor of the Department of Cultural Studies at the National Research University “The Higher School of Economics”. Teaches various modules on contemporary culture such as: “Cultural trauma and collective identity”, “Biopolitics and forms of exception”, “Ideology and Intellectuals”. During his research into philosophy of consciousness of the 18th century, Arseniy Khitrov discovered that English novels of that period contained ideas that great minds such as Michael Foucault and Daniel Dennett were able to come to only in the 20th century: for instance the illusiveness of the Self, or arbitrariness of the normalcy of mental health.

Tatiana Chernigovskaya

Neurolinguist. Saint-Petersburg, Russia. Born in Leningrad, USSR

Professor, Doctor of Biological Sciences and Doctor Litterarum. Head of the Cognitive Studies Laboratory at the faculty of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Saint Petersburg State University. The head of human sciences at the Russian Scientific Centre "Kurchatov Institute", Moscow. Her fields of interest include: cognitive science, psycho and neurolinguistics, psychology, neurosciences, language origins, evolution theory, artificial intelligence,and analytical philosophy. The author and presenter of the popular-science film “Show a mirror to nature”. The author of more than 300 scientific articles, among which are “Language as an interface between the brain and mind” and “The brain and mind: free will and neuroethics issues”.

Sergey Shutov

Artist. Moscow, Russia. Born in Potsdam, Germany

Curator and an author of articles on contemporary art. First Academician of the "New Academy," St. Petersburg. The founder of the Institute of Art Technology, Moscow. Performed with Sergey Kuryokhin's “Pop-mechanics” orchestra. Sergey Shutov is one of the pioneers of Russian video art and VJ practices. He represented Russia with the project "ABAK" at the 49th Venice Biennale in 2001. Throughout his career Sergey Shutov has explored the indivisibility of the artistic and scientific approach in creating an artwork.

BRAIN
STORMS

credits: Suzanne Dikker & Matthias Oostrik / AFNI

brainstorms

Участники

Марина Абрамович, Константин Анохин, Юрий Бужаки, Михаил Бурцев, Давид Дубровский, Александр Каплан, Антонио Келла, Марина Корсакова-Крейн, Георгий Никич, Дарья Пархоменко, Юлиус Попп, Арсений Хитров, Татьяна Черниговская, Сергей Шутов

Марина Абрамович

Художник. Нью-Йорк, США. Род. в Белграде, Югославия

Главный объект творчества Марины Абрамович – тело. Более 40 лет она создает произведения, которые являются испытанием для самого художника и для зрителя. Она исследует пограничные состояния сознания через боль и шок, медитацию и взаимодействие. В 1997 году получила премию «Золотой лев» на Венецианской биеннале за работу «Балканское барокко». Обладатель почетных докторских степеней в области искусства. Ровно три месяца длился перформанс «В присутствии художника» в MoMA, Нью-Йорк (2010), в течение которого каждый посетитель мог смотреть в глаза художнику. После этого Абрамович начала сотрудничество с нейроучеными, что заложило основу перформанса «Изучая магию взгляда» в ЦСК Гараж, Москва (2011). «Излучения мозга пронизывают все...» — Марина Абрамович.

Константин Анохин

Нейробиолог. Москва, Россия. Род. в Москве, СССР

Руководитель Отдела нейронаук НБИКС-Центра в Национальном исследовательском центре «Курчатовский институт» в Москве. Возглавляет Лабораторию нейробиологии памяти в Институте нормальной физиологии РАМН. Что такое память, как субъективный опыт сохраняется в клетках и молекулах мозга, как наша память трансформируется со временем, как память связана с сознанием и как мозг производит сознание – некоторые из тем, которыми занимается Константин Анохин.

Юрий Бужаки

Нейрофизиолог. Ньюарк, Нью Джерси, США. Род. в Капошваре, Венгрия

Профессор нейронаук им. Биггса в Университете Нью-Йорка. Научные интересы Бужаки – ритмическая активность мозга, сон, память и сопутствующие заболевания. Основной областью его научной деятельности является поиск «нейронального синтакса» – различных типов активности нейронов, с помощью которых мозг перерабатывает, передает и хранит информацию, а также осуществляет когнитивные функции. Автор множества научных публикаций, в том числе бестселлера «Ритмы мозга» (2006). Является действительным членом Американской ассоциации поддержки науки и почетным членом Венгерской академиинаук. Лауреат премии Brain Prize 2011.

Михаил Бурцев

Нейроматематик. Москва, Россия. Род. в Ульяновске, СССР

Руководитель Лаборатории нейроинтеллекта и нейроморфных систем НБИКС-Центра в Национальном исследовательском центре «Курчатовский институт» в Москве. Область научных интересов Михаила Бурцева включает создание эволюционирующего и самообучающегося искусственного интеллекта при помощи теоретической нейробиологии и экспериментов с нейрогибридными системами.

Давид Дубровский

Философ. Москва, Россия. Род. в СССР

Главный научный сотрудник Института философии РАН, сопредседатель Научного совета РАН по методологии искусственного интеллекта. Опубликовал статьи по философским проблемам психологии, эпистемологии, психофизиологической проблематике, ценностно-смысловым структурам сознания, проблемам бессознательного, самообмана и полуправды. Специалист в области аналитической философии сознания. Автор многих книг, среди которых «Психические явления и мозг», «Проблема идеального», «Сознание, мозг, искусственный интеллект».

Александр Каплан

Психофизиолог. Москва, Россия. Род. в Москве, СССР

Доктор биологических наук, профессор, глава Лаборатории нейрофизиологии и нейрокомпьютерных интерфейсов биологического факультета МГУ им. М.В. Ломоносова. Разработал оригинальный метод анализа электрической активности мозга человека, позволяющий открыть новые коды его деятельности; открыл новые подходы к тестированию когнитивных способностей человека, получив новые данные о природе психиатрических расстройств. Может ли человек произвольно управлять состояниями мозга, можно ли зарегистрировать их в биотоках мозга – темы исследований Александра Каплана.

Антонио Келла

Робототехник. Палермо, Италия. Род. во Флоренции, Италия

Доктор наук в компьютерном машиностроении, возглавляет Лабораторию робототехники Университета Палермо. В сфере его научных интересов – проблема создания робота с «духовным миром» и способностью к эмоциям, творчеству, сознанию и самосознанию. Антонио Келла создал несколько роботов с доступом к базе мирового культурного наследия. Среди них – «Цицеробот» и «Роботаник», два робота-экскурсовода с автономным управлением, которые работают в Археологическом Музее г.Агридженто и Ботаническом саду университета г.Палермо. Келла является главным редактором «International Journal of Machine Consciousness».

Марина Корсакова-Крейн

Музыкант. Нью-Йорк, США. Род. в Нижнем Новгороде, СССР

Пианистка и исследователь в области восприятия музыки. Защитила докторскую диссертацию «Эмоциональные реакции на переориентацию в тональном пространстве» в Школа поведенческих наук и головного мозга, Университет Техаса, Даллас. Изучает восприятие мелодической ротации в силовом тональном поле, влияние визуализации на восприятие ритма, применение эстетической пангеометрии Павла Флоренского к исследованию эмоций. Исследовательские интересы Корсаковой-Крейн связаны с исполнительской практикой музыканта и пространственными особенностями музыки.

Георгий Никич

Историк искусства, куратор. Москва, Россия. Род. в Москве, СССР

Кандидат искусствоведения, член правления Международной ассоциации искусствоведов (АИС), куратор форума «Культура +», главный куратор Московского международного форума художественных инициатив, преподаватель факультета управления социокультурными проектами Московской высшей школы социальных и экономических наук (Российско-Британский университет). Среди интересов Георгия Никича исследования природы творчества, форм и степени зависимости авторского высказывания от контекстов, в том числе: консультирование программы «Изобразительный язык больных параноей», курирование проектов «Контрольная станция чувств», «Глубинное…» (выставка-интервью).

Дарья Пархоменко

Искусствовед, куратор. Москва, Россия. Род. в Москве, СССР

Основатель и директор независимого, некоммерческого центра LABORATORIA Art &Science Space (Москва). В 2009 году основала Фонд поддержки стратегических научно-художественных инноваций «ЛАБОРАТОРИЯ». Куратор более двадцати science art проектов, среди которых «Установка должна быть красивой», «Между небом и Землей», Tele-present Wind, «Внедрение». Принимала участие в научно-художественной экспедиции Cape Farewell в Арктику. В 2011 году была членом жюри фестиваля технологического искусства Ars Electronica (Австрия, Линц). Курировала научно-художественный перформанс Марины Абрамович «Измеряя магию взгляда» в ЦСК «Гараж», Москва.

Юлиус Попп

Художник. Лейпциг, Германия. Род. в Нюрнберге, Германия

Юлиус Попп исследует феномен информации и в своих работах использует новейшие технологии и научные изобретения. Одно из известных произведений художника — Bitfall, с датчиком, который анализирует потоки новостей в Интернете и преобразует их в «текст водопада». Знаки появляются посредством пульсации, прерывания струй и капель воды. Произведения Поппа изучают в Институте Фраунхофер (Бонн) и в Лаборатории компьютерных наук (MIT). В 2009 призер The Leipziger Volkszeitung Art Prize. В 2003 победитель Robot Choice Award.

Арсений Хитров

Философ, культуролог. Москва, Россия. Род. в Москве, СССР

Доцент отделения культурологии Национального Исследовательского Университета «Высшая Школа Экономики». Читает курсы по современной культуре: «Культурная травма и коллективная идентичность», «Биополитика и формы исключения», «Идеология и интеллектуалы». В ходе изучения философии сознания 18 века, Арсений Хитров обнаружил, что английские романы той эпохи содержали в себе идеи, к которым такие мыслители как Дэниел Деннет и Мишель Фуко пришли только в 20 веке: например, иллюзорность «Я», отсутствие нормы психологического здоровья.

Татьяна Черниговская

Нейролингвист. Санкт-Петербург, Россия. Род. в Ленинграде, СССР

Профессор, доктор биологических и филологических наук. Заведующая Лабораторией когнитивных исследований факультета свободных искусств и наук СПбГУ. Руководитель отдела социо-гуманитарных наук НБИКС-Центра в Национальном исследовательском центре «Курчатовский институт», Москва. Сферы ее научных интересов: когнитивная наука, психо- и нейролингвистика, психология, нейронауки, происхождение языка, теория эволюции, искусственный интеллект, аналитическая философия. Автор и ведущая научно-популярного фильма «Покажем зеркало природе». Автор более 300 научных работ, среди которых «Язык как интерфейс между сознанием и мозгом» и «Мозг и сознание: свобода воли и вопросы нейроэтики».

Сергей Шутов

Художник. Москва, Россия. Род. в Потсдаме, Германия

Куратор и автор статей по теории современного искусства. Первый академик «Новой Академии», Санкт-Петербург. Основатель Института Технологии Искусства, Москва. Выступал с оркестром Сергея Курехина «Поп-механика». Сергей Шутов - один из основоположников российского видео-арта и виджей практик. В 2001 году с проектом «АБАК» он представлял Россию на 49-й Венецианской биеннале. В своем творчестве Шутов манифестирует нерасчлененность научного и художественного подходов к созданию произведения искусства.